How long can you drive with expired tags in Texas? Before know about some essential points. Welcome to KASAHELP.ORG we provides all driving and car maintenance related content. Read our full article to get full information regarding How long can you drive with expired tags in Texas?
What is DMV Tag ?
As we know DMV stands for Department of motor vehicle, Each and every vehicle needs to get inspected once in a year in Texas. After passing the inspection test a tag is issued for your vehicle. This tag indicates that car is inspected. But this tag is valid for a certain time.
Late registration fine
If you didn’t renew your vehicle registration on your due date or before due date and received a citation for driving expired vehicle registration. About 20% penalty of vehicle registration will be charged on a full year registration of vehicle due to late Registration.
How long can you drive with expired tags in Texas?
Legally you can drive your car with expired tags only 5 days after expire your tag without penalty in Texas. After These 5 days if you drive car with expired tag you will get a penalty ticket upto $200.
Renew your vehicle’s Registration
Before getting a penalty ticket you should renew your vehicle registration. There are many way to renew your registration. These are by online, by mobile application and by offline.
what will fail a car inspection in Texas
If you renew your registration by online you will receive $1 as discount. Online vehicle registration may renewed before 90 days of expiration or 12 months after expiration date.
It takes 2 business day to print sticker after payment. You can track your sticker by clicking this link https://www.txdmv.gov/track
By mobile Application
Texas by Texas is a mobile application that manage vehicle registration details licences of registered users. It sends remainder of vehicle registration renewal date. You can download it from app store.
If you want to renew your vehicle’s registration you need to keep renewal notice and proof of your insurance then go to an approved substation.
If you did not received a renewal notice you must carry these documents
- License Plate Number
- Vehicle Identification Number
- Registration Receipt from the previous year
I hope you understand all points in this article. If you want to get latest updates from KASAHELP please subscribe our blog by clicking allow to the web push notification. And if you want to get article on your query please leave your query on contact us page. Again Thanks for reading our blog.